The 1 Star Reviews

I have been reading customer reviews on Amazon (both the books I’ve read and the ones I’d like to read). I don’t bother reading much about the 5 star reviews, because, of course, they’re awesome. So I moved to the 1 star reviews and read what people are saying. “This book is terrible,” a customer said. “Don’t waste your money and time,” another customer wrote. And many others like that.

Some people who are trying to be constructive wrote why they don’t like the book they’re giving 1 star review. What struck me most is that there are 1 star reviews for the books that I’d love to read again and again, the books that I’d recommend to friends and family because they’re good books. But for some people, they’re not good books. This really got me thinking about our endeavors in life (business, writing books, creative ideas, and whatnot) that many people will not like them. And that’s fine because our endeavors are not for everybody.

Those who give our works 1 star reviews don’t hate us. The only problem is that our ideas don’t resonate with them for one reason or the other. After all, your endeavor isn’t for everybody. Don’t let the comments, criticism of others stop you from doing your work. Your work doesn’t have to make sense for everybody, if it makes sense to you and a few people I think that’s enough. Change doesn’t start with a large crowd. It starts with an individual.

-MOAB © 2014

Leave a Reply

