The Last Lecture…

It was in the middle of my post graduate days in the university when a Seismic engineering lecturer gave his last lecture to all the soon-to-graduate students. As the lecturer informed us that today would be his last lecture with us, all the students gazed to his direction and listened attentively.

“Today’s lecture is the last lecture I will have with you,” he said. “But I have a beneficial advice for you all,” he added. Most of you are studying civil engineering because your friends are, most of you are in this lecture hall today because your parents said you should be here, but it’s not too late now to decide your own future and follow your dreams and passion. Because not all of you will become engineers, not all of you will make it to the engineering industries, but most of you will make it if you do what you love and desire most.”

Photo Credit: Sherrys Soiledwings via flickr.com

Photo Credit: Sherrys Soiledwings via flickr.com

After hearing him out, all the students gave him a standing ovation. We were all touched, but I think I was touched the most (in my own perspective). I felt like his advice was meant for me at the right time. I had wanted to be something else, not an engineer. I had wanted to be with the creatives because most times, during the lecture I read books on my phone. I enjoyed reading them and I had thought I would want to be a writer, somehow. I felt this is my call and I will do anything to share my ideas and write my stories for the world to learn from. What’s your passion? What do you enjoy doing? Follow your dreams and fight for it, because it’s never too late to do so.

-MOAB © 2014

Leave a Reply

