Why I Chose Writing Among All Professions

images (1)

When I was younger, I wanted to ask many questions but I couldn’t because painful slaps were usually the answers to my questions. The curiosity vibe in me was locked with slaps. So I stayed mute, which turned me to be kind of introvert. I don’t think I’m one. I love to talk, to teach, to argue in order to separate the wheat from the chaff, to express my ideas and opinions. It doesn’t matter if you agree with me or not.

As a kid, growing up was hard. I saw injustice, oppression, betrayal, hypocrisy, heartbreak, love and courage. I wanted to voice all these out as a kid but I couldn’t, and then I found an alternative route which is writing. I found many answers to my questions from books. I walked hours just to read books. Books gave me confidence to believe in myself. I wanted to write stories of every experience I had had, and the experience of the present and of the future because we all have stories and this is what connects us together as humans.

I chose writing among all professions because writing allows me to tell my story in my own way; it allows me to express my ideas, thoughts and perspective of the world. If you’re blocked from expressing your ideas, write. Write, because no one cares to listen anymore.
-MOAB © 2014

2 thoughts on “Why I Chose Writing Among All Professions

  1. I am a very curious person. As a child people did not discourage me from asking questions. It’s heartbreaking to read that your curiosity as a child, which is often how a child learns and acquires more knowledge, was stifled like that. We could all learn from this– people and children ask questions because they seek to know more. Children are people too, and the old saying that “children should be seen and not heard” in my opinion is stifling the natural curiosity of a child and hinders their acquisition of knowledge. You are to be commended for not letting that get you down as a child and seeking your answers from books etc. You probably see written words as “friends” as from there you got your curiosity quenched without being reprimanded. Even though many people are poor listeners, there are still a few that listen well and listening skills could be improved by most people. When one writes, those that “listen” to what is written, may “listen” better because they chose to continue reading and are actually interested in what they are reading. You have many good things to say, so continue to share your thoughts and knowledge with the world so more people can learn from what you have to share.

Leave a Reply

