It’s Either You Write Or You Don’t

Last year, I once wrote on my Twitter bio that I am an aspiring writer who write stories. And then this guy, Ajala Yemi, the author of NYSC: Now Your Suffering Continues, mentioned me in a tweet like this: “uncle @moabsophy remove “aspiring” from your bio. It’s either you write or you don’t.”

zero-to-hero-badgeThat simple mention changed everything. I was scared to call myself a writer. I thought ‘aspiring writer’ would fit in the circle so that people won’t criticize me for my mistakes and errors. After all, I’m just an aspiring writer. I think many people hide in this cocoon called aspiring. Aspiration is a wish or hope or desire but if you’re actually doing the work, then you’re no more aspiring. If you write, then you’re a writer. It doesn’t mean you have to get published. It means putting pen to paper. Every day.

Stop hiding, come out bold and claim what you love to do. You’re a writer when you say you are. So claim it today. Stop wishing, and hoping to become a writer. Write and become a writer. It’s that simple! It’s either you write or you don’t. Or better this way, it’s either you’re a writer or you’re not. There’s no in-between.
-MOAB © 2014

3 thoughts on “It’s Either You Write Or You Don’t

Leave a Reply

