Love To Write? Write Every Day

write-it-downI love writing and I’m afraid of it. I’m afraid of the blank page. I’m afraid of messing up with basic grammar rules. I’m afraid of making mistakes. Sometimes I’m afraid of starting. So I do a lot of tweaking on Google, watch interviews and motivational talks on YouTube, and then I write. The eerie thing about writing is that when you’re about to put down your well thought ideas, they become fade and something else happens, then you end up with something different from your original thought. It’s crazy. Most times, I stop in the middle of writing to check on Google if my ideas have been written before, which distracts me from my original thought and sometimes it serves me good by adding enough of goodies to my ideas.

Despite the fact that I’m afraid of writing, I still do it every day. Sometimes 2-3 write ups a day. When I write with MS word, I get stuck easily because of the spell checker. Writing and editing at the same paralyzes my writing, and I move to Notepad or better Facebook update post, this allows me to write without grammar and spell checker. My writing juices flow better when I write with these tools and sometimes with my pen. Writing is hard work. It takes time, brainstorming, and research before you can write one true sentence that’ll resonate with your readers. Nathaniel Hawthorne puts it so well like this: “Easy reading is damn hard writing.”

If you’re afraid of writing, I urge you to face it every day. If you do it every day, you’ll understand it better. You’ll know what to do and what not to do because it’ll become part of you. Writing has become part of me because I do it every day and it’s the only endeavor that I can do better. Writing every day has helped me to be more committed, to be open to people, to study myself, to believe in myself, and to inspire lives beyond my reach. You can also pass the baton of inspiration to others by writing. Love to write? Write every day. Start now.
-MOAB © 2014

3 thoughts on “Love To Write? Write Every Day

  1. I’m afraid too. And you’re right, the Bly way to face it is to just do it over and over and over again.

Leave a Reply

