Idea Stealers: Do They Still Exist?

Photo Credit: Mike Chaput

Photo Credit: Mike Chaput

Recently, a friend showed me some of her creative works. She designed some outfits and they were really cool. I told her to share it on her blog so that other people can know about it. In fact, sharing it with the world will let it go places and of course you’ll find the right agent to help you promote and monetize it. Her response was, “I don’t want to share it on my blog because I’m afraid that people will steal my work.”

I told her that no one can steal her work if it’s originally hers. Well, this is my belief. I believe that whatever belongs to you, whatever you created or designed yourself there is no one that can do it better than you. Yes, they’ll copy it and sure, more of it will come into being, but the truth is yours will be different from theirs because it’s yours.

The belief that “my work” will be stolen has stifled many creative minds not to share their work with others. It’s just like they’re not afraid of criticism but they’re only afraid that their work will be stolen. How are they even sure that their work will resonate with the world if they don’t share it? Maybe, perhaps, someone somewhere has done that hidden work of yours but in another form.

I’ve been into this for long, too. I could remember when I was afraid of sharing my mediocre writings with others thinking people will steal it. Yes, it has been stolen many times without any credit given to me but I keep producing more until it got better. If people do steal your work, make another one. If they steal it again, make another one. And if you keep producing that means no one can steal your work. It’s meant for you and only you. You understand it better than them.

The reality is that there are many idea stealers out there but that doesn’t mean you should not share your work or idea with the world. Sharing it with the world is a big chance for you to excel and create more. You’ll meet more creative minds like you out there if you do share your work. People will criticize it, give you positive feedback, and also add value to it. Sharing your work with the world is the best if you think that your work matters.

Have you finished writing your book? If yes, then share it with world. Have you created something that matters? If yes, then share it with the world. Whatever your work is, as far as it matters kindly share it with the world because a work that got shipped is better than the one still in the store. If a work has been shipped then there will be room to create another one. Don’t be afraid, folks. Share and ship your work because there’s nothing better than sharing and shipping.
-MOAB © 2014

2 thoughts on “Idea Stealers: Do They Still Exist?

  1. I like to share, even if it gets stolen I wish it to be published somewhere. Without giving me credit? Well, I don’t mind! If I see it published under some other name, I will be seeing ‘my published work’, not the name.

    • I’m glad to hear that. If you really want your work to be published then get your work shipped. How? Self-published your work. This century has given us a lot of opportunities like no other. You don’t have to wait to get picked up anymore. This is the time to promote your self and put your work out for the world to see because your stories matter. So, what are you waiting for? The resources is all there online. Amazon has made things for us, there are no more excuses. So, go now, get published and inspire lives beyond your reach. Thank you, Baad, for reading.

Leave a Reply

