One Thing that stopped me From Attempting to Ride a Bicycle

Fear! We’ve all heard this word before. It’s the word that stops us from not trying new things. It’s the word that gives us rational and flimsy excuses not to even try to pursue being awesome much less attain it. Fear is real. It’s the feeling that stopped me from attempting to ride a bicycle. You may ask, “Are you kidding?” No, I’m not. Are you surprised that I can’t ride a bicycle? Don’t be! That’s what fear has done to me. I was afraid that I will get injured if I dare to try it.

Fear has knocked me down many times and I know that the same thing has happened to you, as it happens to everyone.

Fear resonates with your thoughts and gives you the list of all the bad things that could happen if you ever make any attempt.  Fear paralyzes us from moving forward and even from speaking up even when we feel strongly that we should.

 Photo Credit: Dancing With Happiness

Perhaps you’ve wanted to start writing, but you resist. Why? Because fear is telling you that you’re not good enough. Fear tells you that you only had 2 likes on your last Facebook post, so why start a blog?

Fear tells you that the people that liked your Facebook post were your relatives, so why start writing a book that will not resonate with the world?

Fear tells you that nobody cares about what you have to say.

Fear tells you that there are millions of writers out there who’re still looking for a space to fit in, so why join them?

Fear tells you that Maya Angelou or Oprah Winfrey or any celebrities posted a smiley icon on Facebook and it got thousands of likes. Can you beat that? Fear asks?

Can you relate to any of these?

If yes, then you can break this fear and go for awesome.

There is fear of the known and the unknown.

Both are dangerous and what they do is to prevent you from trying much less believing that you could actually write or do something awesome.

Awesome needs you and you need awesome too.

But, fear is telling you “no” that you aren’t worth or can’t achieve awesome.

Fear sometimes comes in human form. You don’t believe me, right?

This is not fiction my friend. Fear comes from your parents, from your friends, and even from your mentors. Their words scare the hell out of you. They chase you off and stifle your creative mind.

Can you imagine if everyone allowed fear to maintain its grip on them?  Many wonderful things would not have been spoken, written or achieved.

FEAR IS DOUBT

Doubt robs you off of your success; it causes you to present reasons why you’ll fail. It cripples you and squelches you from the desire to try. It causes one to lack initiative. Doubt is a negative thing and it comes from fear. The opposite of doubt is to believe and it’s the only way to conquer your fear.

Believe in your dreams.

Believe that no one has the right to judge your art. Not even Seth Godin or Maya Angelou.

Did I just say that? Yes, I did.

Believe that your thoughts are profound.

Believe that all great writers started from somewhere.

Believe that if they can make it, you can surely do better.

Believe that you’re a writer and you’re already one by writing.

Conquer your fear with these: Believe; Start, Learn, and Work harder.

-MOAB © 2014

7 thoughts on “One Thing that stopped me From Attempting to Ride a Bicycle

  1. Two things: 1. YES! I found another adult person who doesn’t know how to ride a bike! Pretty much for the same reason as you. 2. I do believe someone/something/God/Higher Power is trying to tell me something, because this is the second post I came across today that is speaking to me directly. I can so relate to fear stopping us from doing what we want. Thank you for the encouragement.

    • Thank you for reading. I am glad that I am not the only one who can’t ride a bicycle. But, I would like to. I’m ready to overcome my fear this summer. It’s not too late. Yes, it’s true that most times God sends us message through many ways and I guess this is one of them. Conquer your fear now and go for awesome. It’s never too late. Once again, thanks for reading.

  2. Pingback: Experts, Lies And Videotapes | Ana Lynn's Blogging Adventures

  3. Pingback: A Criminal Confession About Fear | moabsophy

  4. Pingback: A Criminal’s Confession About Fear | moabsophy

  5. Pingback: I will Do Better If… | moabsophy

Leave a Reply

